I Wanted You, Persephone

22 May

Dear Persephone,

I wanted you. When you are sixteen, and we are in the middle of a fight, and you say, “But you were eighteen! I was an accident! You don’t want me!” know that a) you are really cute when you’re angry, at least right now, and b) that’s totally wrong.

It took more desire for me, an eighteen-year-old with a surprise pregnancy, to have you than it might for a thirty-year-old with a stable environment. It is easy to want a baby when your life is ready to accommodate one. It’s indescribably scary to want to keep your baby when your life is not ready at all. That didn’t stop me.

Sincerely,
Mom

7 Responses to “I Wanted You, Persephone”

  1. babytyche08 May 23, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    My sister just got pregnant few 5 months ago and she’s only 16 yrs old. As much as the whole family was angry we felt so bad for what happen to her. I told her that it’s so hard to raise a child on her own at her age.

    • teenmamainc May 23, 2010 at 9:24 am #

      That’s true, it is. I’ve been lucky because I have a great support system, and I hope your sister does too. Good luck to her and your whole family.

  2. prymface May 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    So true! This almost made my eyes leak!

    • teenmamainc May 23, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

      Maybe have a plumber check that out? What? No, I didn’t cry when I wrote this… I just have allergies.

  3. kellywellybelly May 24, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Wow! My son hasnt managed to tell me that yet…… I guess thats due to the fact that he is 2 months, and can’t talk yet

    • teenmamainc May 24, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      Heh, well it’s an imagined future on my part. I figure she’s bound to say it someday, what with all the resentfulness teens tend to harbor towards their parents. I want to be prepared so that she always knows that she was in fact very, very wanted.

  4. marvelist December 10, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    I am actually tearing up! I have been dreading/waiting for the day my son says this to me, this is a beautiful response. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

